Thought for this week

Roy Goodman said: “Happiness is a way of travel, not a destination”

We spend a lot of time, money and energy looking for “happiness”, seeking fulfilment, filling the gap and hunting for our souls. We often wonder “when” we will find it, what is stopping us from being fulfilled and happy. I used to do that too – still do sometimes when I take my eye off the ball.

But I have realised over the years that right now is happy, the satisfaction of being here, wherever that is, the fulfillment of knowing the people I know and doing the things that I do. Well, not all of the things I do and perhaps not all of the people I know……….but you get the picture! Even having to do and know things and people who bring sadness or frustration is fulfilling – how would we know we were happy if we didn’t recognise sadness?

In the middle of a rather heated conversation with an unpleasant neighbour over the weekend (his garden crap is breaking my lovely 150 year old wall and I have been waiting a year for him to move his rubbish – I am truly a saint…) it was all a little tense and irritated and had got to the stage when my words came out as if a ventriloquist was standing behind me uttering them for me, you know the kind of thing, grimace on face, lips set in a line, very very carefully spoken words………………….and I suddenly noticed the amazing way the light was hitting the old tree in my garden – it was dusk and the Orangina sunlight was full on the side of the tree and seemed to be lodged in the rough bark, wedged in by the force of nature and dribbling into the cracks and creases. Fabulous. How could I be cross with that sight in front of me? I had better things to do than row with a sour man who didn’t give a damn – I had a picture to paint and a sunset to watch.

So I hope you travel in the way of happiness and don’t wait until you might find it. We don’t know what is along the road and in looking too far ahead we might miss the beauty under our feet.

PS – the sour guy gets the solicitors letter next week. Better outcome than arguing!!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Melinda Moolman  On August 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    We seem to be going through a period of nostalgia, and everyone seems to think yesterday was better than today. I don't think it was, and I would advise you not to wait ten years before admitting today was great. If you're hung up on nostalgia, pretend today is yesterday and just go out and have one hell of a time. ~Art BuchwaldI really admire my little 6 year old, who just enjoy life from moment to moment! We can all learn from the children and try to enjoy those moment more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

